KATE HUDSON TALKS DANCE, SHOES AND STYLE ICONS AS SHE POSES FOR JIMMY CHOO

She’s widely regarded as a style icon in her own right, so it must have been an easy decision for Jimmy Choo to let actress Kate Hudson style her favourite pieces from the new collection. Inspired by ballet, the new range resonates with Hudson on a personal level. “I grew up dancing,” she tells the label. “My mom put me in dance classes since I was three years old and I did ballet up until 12 before she allowed me to take more types of dance, like lyrical. I wasn’t allowed to skip class, I just knew I had to go. If you have that kind of discipline as a kid it sort of translates to everything. Dancing really connected me to my body in terms of understanding what my body needs.”

Although Choo is well known for their sky high heels, Hudson’s choice of flat shoes is one that’s been inspired by her own style icons. “Comfort is definitely the common denominator, which means a lot of pieces that are flowy and light. I’ve always been attracted to the ’70s — sexy, with a lot of freedom in the overall aesthetic. My fashion icons are Julie Christie, Anita Pallenberg, Kate Moss and Cher.”

But that’s not to say she wasn’t lusting over the red silk and tulle stiletto’s as they took her back to her very first pair of heels. “I must have been twelve, and it was graduation,” she says. “My mom didn’t let me wear heels back then, but I used to go in her closet and try hers on, of course. I wore a sundress that had a big skirt and it was white with little cherries on it. My mom bought me my first pair of high heels that day, they must have only been an inch or so. They were bright red and she gave them to me all wrapped up. I was so happy! So my first pair of heels were bright red pumps, which I couldn’t have been more excited about.”

Leave a Reply

