WHAT WE LEARNT FROM KATE MOSS’S INTERVIEW WITH NICK KNIGHT

She’s notoriously private and rarely gives interviews, declaring “never complain, never explain.” But successful supermodel Kate Moss has now made an exception for her good friend, collaborator and renowned photographer Nick Knight but discussing pinnacle points in her 20-year career. Talking about that famous Calvin Klein ad that catapulted her to superstardom and how she dealt with overnight success, Moss talks candidly for the first time. So, what did we learn about the waif-like super?

ON EX BOYFRIEND AND PHOTOGRAPHER OF THAT CK AD,  MARIO SORRENTI

“I’d wake up in the morning and he’d be taking pictures of me and I’d be like “F**k off” and I laid like that for about 10 days. He would not stop taking pictures of that. We split up after that. When you’re in a relationship with a photographer and they start abusing that relationship by being like, “I want you to do this” it makes you like, “No”.”

“I didn’t want to work all the time. He’d be like, “Get up on the roof, take your clothes off” and I’d be like “F**k off! I don’t want to do that.”

ON FAME

“Still sometimes I’m like “Ooh there’s me” and even still you go “Ooh” but I never was like “wow, look at me on the [side of the] bus. You have to be a bit grounded about things like that. I’m from Croydon and if you get above your station, somebody will f**king knock you back down.You can’t go around with airs and graces, at all and I would never want to. When I see people do that I think they look like c***s. I don’t get it.”

“They’d start sending limos for me and I’d be like, “That is so embarrassing, I’m not getting in a stretched limo by myself to go to a shoot?” It was all very New York.”

ON NUDITY

“Now I understand that kind of thing a bit better, capturing an image and working a lot. But at the time I was 17.”

Leave a Reply

